John Kaster

Behind the Screen

MacBook Pro Impressions #3

with 3 comments

In my first and second posts on this subject, it looks like the MacBook has been losing in the comparison to Windows 7, so I thought I’d do a quick (we’ll see!) post on some things I do like about the Mac.

Spotlight rocks

Spotlight kicks butt all over Windows search, particularly when searching in the windows start menu, which frequently doesn’t even find installed software by name. Spotlight is fast, it finds everything, and the UI is set up so you can just type as much as you need to find the item you want, you hit enter, and it opens. I actually almost never use my dock.

I started using it even more after I discovered the Command+Space hotkey that invokes the spotlight search.

Fancy fingerwork

The 4-finger swipes are quite handy (pun intended) now that David Clegg has told me about them.

  • Swipe 4 fingers left or right: show all running tasks
  • Swipe 4 fingers up: show your desk top
  • Swipe 4 fingers down: show all open windows
  • Swipe 4 fingers in the opposite direction: revert your view

3-finger swipes that work in Safari and Firefox (at least):

  • Swipe 3 fingers left: move backward to previous browser page
  • Swipe 3 fingers right: move forward to next browser page

Lots of configuration options

As several people pointed out in comments to my last post on this subject, there’s also a lot of configuration options available on the mac. It turns out I disagree with Apple on what should be the default setting for at least a few of them Winking smile.

The following bookmark is one I refer to when I remember to teach myself some more Mac features, also.

http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/400/mac-os-x-hidden-features-and-nice-tips-tricks

Written by John Kaster

April 14, 2011 at 8:18 am

Posted in IT Industry, Mac

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You forgot the two finger swipe up/down to scroll the window currently under the mouse pointer. Thats the gesture I probably use the most.

    And unlike Windows, this works without having to make the window active. This may be a feature that you either love or hate, but I personally prefer this behaviour.

    David Clegg

    April 14, 2011 at 8:37 am

    • Heh. I didn’t actually forget it, I just didn’t mention it because it’s pretty standard on most trackpad devices now, like my Logitech Review keyboard’s trackpad. Thanks for mentioning it!

      John Kaster

      April 14, 2011 at 9:04 am

      • Fair enough. The last Windows trackpad I used (and many previous), only supported this by having dedicated areas at the right and bottom of the trackpad. As such, I tended to not use them much.

        David Clegg

        April 14, 2011 at 9:19 am


Leave a Reply

