John Kaster

Behind the Screen

What’s the staying power of your code?

with 2 comments

I just reconnected with an old friend (he called us both dinosaurs, but we’re not that old!) on LinkedIn. Brian has been in business so long his company actually has a three-letter domain name, cus.com. CUS Business Systems does auction software and consulting, and many years ago I wrote some utility functions for him.

Part of his reconnection email to me said “We’re still writing software for auctioneers, and still using those rtf routines you wrote for me 20 +/- years ago…”

Naturally, I was amazed and impressed by the “staying power” of code I wrote more than 20 years ago, still being used in production. (This is for a Clipper application, by the way.)

So, this prompted me to ask both of my readers:

  • What’s the oldest code you have that’s still in production use?
  • What language is it written in?
  • What is it used for?
Written by John Kaster

January 19, 2011 at 5:35 am

Posted in IT Industry, Personal

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,

    I wrote a custom application for a car rental company in 1997 written in Delphi 5 (is there any other development tool that is as good as this?). It is still being used to date. My client asked me to modify it briefly in early 2000 and in the middle of 2010.

    I also wrote another application for a chemical storage company in Delphi 7 (go Delphi!) in 2004 and it is still in active use today

    Phillip Flores

    January 19, 2011 at 5:45 am

    • I’ve definitely still got some Delphi 1/2 code in production, too. Some of it was based on Turbo Pascal code, so its ancestry COULD be as old as the aforementioned Clipper code.

      John Kaster

      January 19, 2011 at 7:11 am


Leave a Reply

