John Kaster

Behind the Screen

MacBook Pro Impressions #1

with 8 comments

I got a MacBook Pro on December 23rd, 2010.  I’m jotting down my impressions as someone very familiar with DOS and Windows, and not at all familiar with the Mac.

I haven’t worked on a Mac since about 1986, so any previous experience I’ve had with them is irrelevant.

I’m not comparing Windows vs. Mac OSX. In fact, the primary reason I got this laptop is so I could run both Windows and Mac software on the same machine, which I’m already doing.

Naturally, the shipping box for the Mac is attractive and well-designed, with a plain outer cardboard box, and a cardboard anchor/pad for each corner of the inner decorated box. The inner box has a black plastic handle so you can lift the box out of the outer box without any difficulty. I like that the self-contained and compact design of the shipping system.

The lid opens and closes nicely. I think it’s held shut magnetically. The power plug also is magnetic – it plugs itself into the laptop when you get the adapter near the receptacle on the laptop. It’s also reversible, so the cord will run alongside the laptop coming toward the front or the back, allowing you to choose which way works better for your current layout. The power brick has a short plug adapter that can be swapped with a longer cord if you need to reach further to your power source. (I just leave the longer cord on all the time).

Apple provides some introductory training videos I found somewhat useful. It’s interesting that options for also running Microsoft Windows on your Mac are also prominently featured.

The keyboard has a pretty good feel. There’s no home or end key, or page up or page down. The delete key is really a backspace key. I really miss not having both. You have to use various multiple keys to get the missing keystrokes and some of them are less intuitive than others. The use of the command and control keys is completely inconsistent, and is still a source of frustration for a keyboard jockey like me.

I’ll record additional impressions in later posts regarding sleep mode, headphone jacks, ISO support,  “intuitiveness”, spotlight, VMWare fusion/parallels, VPN client, Finder views (no tree!), VoiceOver and more. If you care! Winking smile

Written by John Kaster

January 19, 2011 at 5:24 am

Posted in IT Industry, Mac

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi John,
    Are you sure there are no Home and End keys? I have the wired keyboard, since I want to have the numeric keypad and the wireless one doesn’t have a numeric keypad. Perhaps that’s the difference.

    Phillip Woon

    January 19, 2011 at 5:48 am

  2. Never mind, you have the Macbook PRO and not a desktop computer..

    Phillip Woon

    January 19, 2011 at 5:52 am

  3. I think I’m going to get an external wired or bluetooth keyboard to use when I have the mac plugged in. Oh – I also miss that there’s no kind of docking station. Reconnecting these wires rather than dropping it into a dock is slightly annoying every time I move it to my desk 🙂

    John Kaster

    January 19, 2011 at 6:46 am

  4. Phillip Woon

    January 19, 2011 at 11:37 am

  5. This one looks better. I need to get a Macbook

    http://www.hengedocks.com

    Phillip Woon

    January 19, 2011 at 11:44 am

  6. Phillip, good find, thanks. I may actually get the Hengedock.

    John Kaster

    January 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  7. […] I’ve been so busy since my last post on my MacBook impressions, I’m going to keep this post to some quick observations so I […]

  8. […] my first and second posts on this subject, it looks like the MacBook has been losing in the comparison to […]


Leave a Reply

