John Kaster

Behind the Screen

Embarcadero and CodeGear

with 8 comments

By now, many of you have probably seen the announcement about Embarcadero and CodeGear. I’ve received some messages from people outside CodeGear asking me what I think, so I’ll answer here.

There were many potential outcomes from this “spin-off” effort. I think CodeGear and Embarcadero Technologies fit very well together.  Honestly, this outcome is just about the best scenario I could expect. Basically, I didn’t dare to be this optimistic!

The complementary combination of our products and our companies is extensive, exciting, and promising. The two companies have a very large area of interest and expertise overlap, without having conflicting product offerings. The combination of the two product lines will lead to extremely productive development solutions for both sets of customers.

Others have written long posts about this already, so I’m not going to belabor the same points.

I just wanted to provide a public answer to the questions I was getting from people, and reiterate that I think this is a great move and a great day for CodeGear’s customers and its employees.

P.S. As you can imagine, I’m going to be really busy working out the details of integrating our various Internet Services with Embarcadero’s, so I hope you’ll understand if I don’t respond to blog comments immediately.

Written by John Kaster

May 7, 2008 at 4:01 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It does indeed seem a good fit, though I had always thought Macromedia would be the best fit.

    Captain Jake

    May 7, 2008 at 8:17 pm

  2. i was more thinging about a company like apple (or google) to build an application IDE (Delphi) with true cross plateform support … anyway embarcadero look good !

    Loki

    May 8, 2008 at 8:29 am

  3. I for one am overly concerned. I’m waiting with an anxious stomach. I am praying this is a good thing. I sooo do not wanna go back to c++

    Danielle Sherstobitoff

    May 8, 2008 at 9:10 am

  4. Danielle, all I can suggest is you wait and see. Everyone here is pretty optimistic.

    John Kaster

    May 8, 2008 at 10:51 am

  5. Sounds great, now port Delphi to Mac and if it’s not too expensive me and thousands of others will buy it.:-)!!!

    Joe Carney

    May 9, 2008 at 4:33 am

  6. It is a sobering that althought Delphi was bought for
    $30 million, the total value of the Delphi Faithfulls investment in source code,from the Fortune 500’s down to the one man band in a basement amounts to billions of dollars.

    For many of us to go forward Delphi has to succeed and
    go from strength to strength. We will never use anything else.

    David parnaby

    David Parnaby

    May 13, 2008 at 6:32 am

  7. I hope that Delphi will not be only database oriented

    Isaac

    May 14, 2008 at 7:34 am

  8. Isaac, David … Delphi’s future is looking even better now that we’re part of Embarcadero. Embarcadero is a company completely focused on software tools for developers and database professionals.

    John Kaster

    July 1, 2008 at 11:58 pm


Leave a Reply

