John Kaster

Behind the Screen

Using ASP.NET 1.1 and 2.0 on the same machine

with 13 comments

First, some background

(You can skip this part if you aren’t interested or aware of the Borland Developer Network, aka BDN)

A tremendous amount of work has been going on with BDN lately, such as replacing its current StoryServer implementation, adding additional applications and web services, creating a far friendlier and informative getpublished/content management system, load balancing applications that have been running on one server for way too long, and getting additional servers. Most of this work is being done with ASP.NET and Delphi 2006, some using ECO, and some not.

We’ll publish more details of what we’ve been doing when we launch the new services. This is all incidental to the real point of this posting, so let me push on!

I decided to move to Opteron server boxes at the end of last year, and we now have 4 of them installed, and two more on the way. The new BDN (for lack of a better name, we’ll call it “bdn2” here) systems are served by these 4 Opteron boxes. Two boxes have the 32 bit version of Windows Server 2003, and the newer 2 have the 64 bit version. I installed the 64 bit version of the OS so we can take advantage of 64 bit servers and more addressable memory, and try out some things with .NET 2.0 as we work with Highlander (the next version of Delphi) without having to re-install the operating system at some point in the future when we move everything to ASP.NET 2.0 and 64-bit apps.

Because this was my first experience with the 64-bit version of Windows Server 2003, I spent far too much time fooling around with IIS configurations after installing both .NET 1.1 and .NET 2.0 on the 64-bit Windows server 2003 boxes. It’s not very easy to find the .NET 1.1 deployment install any more … I looked in so many different places, I’m not even sure where I finally found it! I think it was an obscure link two clicks after I found the .NET 2.0 deployment install. I’m glad I kept a copy on the machines in case I need it again.

Anyway, after getting the two framework versions installed, I still needed to get my current applications using ASP.NET 1.1 working, and I found several references for ways to mix and match .NET 1.1 and .NET 2.0

ASP.NET version switcher

The first good reference I found offered the background, information on what you needed to do, and a script for doing it. Scott Forsyth’s article also linked to a GUI utility that made it easy to configure ASP.NET versions for your web server configurations.

As Scott mentioned, Denis Bauer has written a very nice GUI tool that allows you to explore your web server configurations, and set the supported ASP.NET version for your various nodes with a simple selection from a list box and a mouse click. His utility then invoked the appropriate asp.net registration utilities. You can find it on his web site. It has worked very well for me, and I highly recommend it. Thanks, Denis!

The MSDN site also has valuable reference information on ASP.NET configuration features.

Cheat sheets for developers

I mentioned this to utility to Jesper Hogstrom in an IM chat we were having before I started writing this blog post, and he gave me a great tip in exchange: a web site that has gathered up links to various cheat sheets (quick reference information) relevant to developers. See Pete Freitag’s Cheat Sheet Roundup for his list.

Written by John Kaster

May 5, 2006 at 12:46 am

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice, but where’s the Delphi cheat sheet? (And the C# one for Delphi guys trying to make sense of the MSDN dox?)

    Jeremy McGee

    May 5, 2006 at 4:19 am

  2. Hi John,
    From this post I can’t quite tell what the real problem you’re trying to solve is but I’ll offer this up anyway. 🙂

    To switch the version of the .NET framework which is used for a particular virtual directory on IIS you can use the Computer Management console. Start the console app then drill down on the treeview to the virtual directory you’re interested in then right click on the virtual directory name, select properties and on the ASP.NET tab there is a dropdown that allows you to choose the version of the framework you want for that particular virtual directory.

    Now, here is the important point:

    If you had previously installed one of the ASP.NET 2.0 betas it’s possible that you may not even see the ASP.NET tab. I had this problem and only after completely uninstalling both frameworks and performing a bunch of manual registry cleaning then reinstalling the frameworks did I get the tab back.

    -Steve

    Steve Trefethen

    May 5, 2006 at 9:06 am

  3. Thanks for the suggestions Steve. An important point I didn’t mention last night (I wanted to get to bed) was that for some reason the ASP.NET tab does not exist on my 64-bit Windows Server 2003 installs.

    I did not install the ASP.NET 2.0 beta framework, and I found the online refs discussing that issue. I have found references to this ASP.NET tab online as well, but nothing I’ve found so far provides information on how to make that tab visible when it doesn’t show up automatically, and you have NOT installed any ASP.NET 2.0 betas. If you have a reference or further suggestions, feel free …

    Until I find a way to make that ASP.NET tab visible, Denis’ utility fits the bill.

    John Kaster

    May 5, 2006 at 9:19 am

  4. Jeremy, for Delphi guys trying to make sense of C#, this can help: http://lingua.borland.com/babelcode/

    There are some good Delphi cheat sheet sites out there. Hopefully people will chime in here with some of them.

    John Kaster

    May 5, 2006 at 9:20 am

  5. My experience is that if you instal Win2003 with .NET 2.0 only (or first), then the ASP.NET tab does not show up. So the link to Denis’ tool is quite helpful for me. Thanks!

    Olaf Monien

    May 5, 2006 at 8:58 pm

  6. Olaf, on one machine I installed .NET 1.1 first, then .NET 2.0. On the other, I did it the opposite way. When I’m back in the office, I’ll verify I don’t see the ASP.NET tab on either machine. I’m not even sure which one I checked when responding to Steve’s message about the ASP.NET tab, so I’ll just check both again. But this utility definitely works for me … I created a desktop shortcut for it. That script mentioned in the reference before Denis’ utility might be useful to customize as well.

    John Kaster

    May 5, 2006 at 9:08 pm

  7. John, I have two Windows 2003 Server x64 boxes, and have the same issue with IIS, I don’t get the ASP.NET tab on it – we have 3 web servers, all experience the same issue, yet with the 32bit versions its all fine…

    Daniel Jones

    May 8, 2006 at 8:38 am

  8. Daniel, thanks for confirmation that this is evidently a common bug for the x64 version. Denis’ utility is looking more valuable all the time 😉

    John Kaster

    May 8, 2006 at 10:10 am

  9. hi steve,
    i am hitting same issue, i have uninstalled .NET frame 1.1 and 2.0 and trying to install just 1.1 and now i am not able to see ASP.net tab, can you please tell me what is manual registry clean up you did in order to get ASP.net tab…will be a great favour….appreciate your help

    thanks mate
    from shivi

    shivi

    June 1, 2006 at 2:39 pm

  10. I want to know how would i get the ASP.NET tab enabled. What i’ve seen is that if i’ve IIS6.0 than automatically the ASP.NET tab appears.Is there any way to get that tab enabled using IIS5.0??

    Anand babu Uchagawkar

    July 12, 2006 at 1:29 pm

  11. I am also having the same problem. I don’t see ASp.NEt tab. After hearing from my admin that they have reinstalled Framework 1.1…I really need to use ASp.NEt 2.0…Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Stucker

    September 5, 2006 at 12:54 pm

  12. The ASP.NET tab appears only if the system has more than one version of .Net installed on it.

    If the system has only one version of .Net installed then the tab doesn’t appear and it is quite logical as there is only one framework.

    Rajesh

    November 13, 2006 at 1:06 am

  13. I have .net framework1.1 and 2.0 on our server running win2K advance server. asp.net2.0 tab doesnt show up in iis5.0. i have existing application that uses asp.net 1.1, i also have new apps that use as[.net2.0.. how can i set my new apps to point to asp.net 2.0?

    amr

    November 17, 2006 at 9:52 pm


Leave a Reply

