John Kaster

Behind the Screen

Please post any Delphi 2005 issues you might have to QualityCentral!

with 44 comments

As you should know by now, we have posted Delphi 2005 Update 1, which addresses serious issues encountered with the initial release of Delphi 2005.

However, there are still conversations going on in the newsgroups about outstanding issues with Delphi 2005, and the team is evaluating the need for further patches to Delphi 2005.

So, please post ANY reproducible issues with Delphi 2005 to QualityCentral as soon as you can, so we can better prioritize any potential plans for an additional patch.

Note: This is NOT an announcement of another patch. This is just a reminder to make sure you report any issues you have with the product in QualityCentral so the team is aware of the scope of issues encountered, so we can better evaluate the need for a patch. Thank you!

Written by John Kaster

January 6, 2005 at 10:28 pm

44 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are several bugs in Delphi 8, that still exist in D2005. Will Borland evaluate these issues too (still flagged as D8 issues), or only issues that are flagged as D2005 issues?

    erwien saputra

    January 7, 2005 at 9:24 pm

  2. Delphi 2005 fixed many bugs reported in previous versions of Delphi. All bugs that are still unresolved are candidates for fixing.

    John Kaster

    January 7, 2005 at 9:27 pm

  3. Have anyone experience from Delpi 5 to Delphi 2005 migration? Would be nice to have an overview of what problems to expect.

    Some examples
    {$IFDEF VER130}

    What is the D2005 preproceesor symbol, or do I have to create my own?

    const
    TimeZoneInitialized : Boolean = false;


    TimeZoneInitialized := true

    Is there som way to let D2005 behave like D5?

    I’m only just beginning but if there is plenty, maybe I’d better get a D5 license instead. By the way is it possible to get a D5 license from Borland?

    Sten Perers

    January 9, 2005 at 4:02 am

  4. Sten,
    You should really post these questions in the newsgroups however in case you are still looking for answers:

    1) VER170 -> run dcc32 from the command line, it will output the version. Remove the decimal point to get the define.

    2) Since D6 (or D7) the compiler option Assignable Type Constants ($J+) is off by default. Set the option back on for your project and it will compile fine. It is recommended that you don’t use writable constants anymore, but variables instead.

    Jeremy North

    January 9, 2005 at 2:55 pm

  5. In form design page of IDE, the grid on the form always appears.<br> In Delphi 5-7, we can change the configuration in Tools->Enviroment->Edit Option to make the grid disappear, but in D2005, it always appears, that may be a bug.

    Dennies Chang

    January 11, 2005 at 10:55 pm

  6. Please publish the German Update 1 for Professional first!

    Martin Strohal

    January 12, 2005 at 8:40 am

  7. The Delphi 2005 IDE will litterally disappear with all lost, and not even an exception!

    This happens serveral times a day. I make sure I have auto-save editor files ON. The disappearence crash can happen editing the simplest of controls, like changing the size of a font in an Intraweb application.

    I am using Windows 2003 with all latest patches on Dell Inspiron 8600 with 1 GB RAM and 1.7 P4M processor, 60 GB HDD.

    Greg Heffernan

    January 15, 2005 at 10:34 pm

  8. please post any issues to QualityCentral. They won’t get tracked if they’re only in my blog.

    John Kaster

    January 17, 2005 at 11:59 am

  9. Well, the main problem with the IDE (that makes it unusable) is the speed. Switching between form view and source take 3++ seconds. Stepping in debug have random stalls for 4++ seconds, especially when entering a new procedure/function. Closing an app takes 10+ seconds before you’re back in the IDE. Even with the Ctrl+F2. Sometimes you even get timeout because this happens so slow. I’ve stopped using D2005 (and I’m using a AMD XP 3200+ with 1Gig 400Mhz RAM!).

    If these issues are not fixed, I will never buy another IDE from Borland. And I thought D7 was slow. This is just incredible…

    Sometimes I wonder if Borland test their product before release. No developer can use the IDE in it’s current state without being mutch less effective (and extremely irritated) than with D7.

    Atle

    January 28, 2005 at 10:04 am

  10. "the team is evaluating the need for further patches"

    The whole Team should devote two entire months to try develop stuff with the D2005 IDE. This way they could understand what they need to do, and the problems that exist (And this testing should be done on normal speed computers).

    While doing this they should do updates while discovering problems, and first priority should be speed and effectivity for the developers. And ofcourse a stable environment without memory leaks.

    RolfEinar Eriksen

    January 28, 2005 at 10:13 am

  11. At least two weeks where every team member is forced to use D2005 to develop random software on a single CPU computer.

    If they could just imagine how many valuable hours they poured down the drain for all developers that bought D2005 by converting them to Alfa stage testers. And they should also know that we are not happy about it, and that it will not be forgotten easily.

    Atle

    January 28, 2005 at 10:21 am

  12. "However, there are still conversations going on in the newsgroups about outstanding issues with Delphi 2005, and the team is evaluating the need for further patches to Delphi 2005."

    what do you mean evaluating the need for further patches? surely they are not planning on leaving this product like it is after SP1?

    Dallas

    February 3, 2005 at 11:41 pm

  13. I downloaded evaluation version on D2005. I’ve used D5 (and still using) for many years with great success. When I started to use D2005 eval. version the surprice was big: starting the IDE is very VERY slow and using it is quite confusing too because the slowness and messy feel and look.

    I’m very unhappy of changes made in IDE. I believe that .NET is not the future of programming even Microsoft says so.

    My opinion is that Borland made a mistake when it took .NET seriously. As we all know .NET apps has major performance drawbacks (reason is .NET layer?) and version compability issues are also common…

    Meanwhile waiting that Borland comes "back to basics" I will keep using D5 as I have done many years. Hopefully win32 (maybe win64 in the future) keeps going on strongly many yars ahead!

    ps. I uninstalled eval. version of D2005 after 5 times evaluating…

    Pekka Nyyssönen

    February 20, 2005 at 9:53 am

  14. I’m trying to evaluate Delphi 2005, but every five seconds it freezes and stops responding for two or three seconds. On and off like this, I can’t do anything. Shutting down, rebooting, uninstall, reinstall, no effect. WinXP 3.4 GHz, no problems running previous versions of Delphi or anything else.

    DesertFlats

    March 1, 2005 at 10:43 am

  15. Different system than the one above, when I open one of my projects from a previous version of Delphi, I get the following after a few minutes:

    Access violation at address 4200CB17 in module boreditu.dll
    Access violation at address 4000F395 in module rtl90.bpl

    Still no go. Back to Delphi 7.

    DesertFlats

    March 4, 2005 at 3:04 pm

  16. DesertFlats, sorry you’re running into problems but I can’t really do anything for you on these issues without reproducible steps posted in QualityCentral.

    John Kaster

    March 4, 2005 at 3:08 pm

  17. Dbgo has a lot of problems.

    Frankwanf

    March 4, 2005 at 9:38 pm

  18. Frankwanf, please give me the QC #s for the dbGo issues. TIA

    John Kaster

    March 4, 2005 at 9:41 pm

  19. John Muir, have you tried update 2, or is this feedback from before update 2?

    John Kaster

    March 20, 2005 at 11:34 pm

  20. My only wish is that Borland will listen less to the hype on the planet and do what they do best.. write compilers. My mantra was always… if you want an OS buy M$, if you want a compiler buy Borland.. both companies have been doing it for 20+ years. Now, instead of Borland leading the pack, are you following the M$ lead. Instead of blowing the world away with Delphi, like 10 years back, are you trying to simply "create an acceptable alternative option" to M$ (and failing really bad). Get real Borland, your are not a fraction the size of MS and simply "competing" is not good enough. You have to be fast & stable around the corners and first to market with Everything! Don’t reinvent the wheel, invent it!

    Like many others, do I not believe in .NET.. like every other technology from MS does it only last a couple of years and then it is the "next buzz thing". And if .NET is so oh all important, why do I not see a "standardized packaged framework" from Borland.. why is it .NET and not .VCL? Wouldn’t this have been the obvious way to "steal the lead"?.. maybe we could all have sat here and raved about D2005 and all the apps you can create for .VCL4Win32, .VCL4Linux and .VCL4Mac in Delphi!

    I am not going to create an issue in QualityCentral… the primary issue is pretty obvious. Pentium 4 3GHz, 1GRam… D2005Update2, slow as it comes (even with .NET and C# disabled)… back to Delphi 7 for me as well!

    Unlike others in the blog, I actually like the new IDE, it makes my desktop much larger and I can autohide all my VCL until I need them, BUT when I upgrade (or try D2005 again with Update 16), I want the D2005 IDE with the Delphi 7 engine, stability and, what now suddenly seems like lightening speed. And while at it, go learn from Jeremy’s Delphi Config Manager how to disable .NET and C# in the IDE, so I can only get it when I really want or need it (without installing and uninstalling). Listen closely JohnK, when in the D9 IDE, I don’t want it to do ANYTHING in the background simply because I switched panes… just switch the panes already. If I want modeling, I’ll enable it, if I want codetips, I’ll enable it, if I want a summary of 20,000 units’ objects I will ask for it (and even click Refresh if need be). Or, alternatively, give me options to disable ALL this new nonsense in D2005… I don’t want subdirectories to appear, webpage-like tooltips, not asked-for parameter watches, process thread and windows messages… UNLESS I enabled it. Ironically, can I not disable the "thing" that makes D2005 so slow.. believe me, I have tried.

    To the D5 person, stay with D5 or upgrade to D7 at best. They don’t differ at all and you will be really happy.

    To John and Borland, you guys really need to ask yourself what it is that will make people go for your product vs an alternative. MS has had a 2 years headstart on .NET, their IDE is faster, cheaper and more stable than D2005. All you have going for you is MANY delphi developers… act now before there is none left! The time to create a levitating wheel has arrive and you don’t have much time to do it in. Delphi 1 was a killer, D2 sucked a little, D3 was the best, D4 sucked, D5 excellent, D6 sucked, D7 made me proud, D8 was a non-start, D9 sucked thus far, D10? It seems this is the first time I will give an uneven numbered Delphi a miss in a decade.

    I have been with you guys from TP3.3 & TASM days… I still believe in Borland… make me proud to be called a "Borland Fanatic"

    Regards, J

    Jacques

    April 2, 2005 at 6:48 am

  21. Hello guys!
    I gave a second chance to Delphi 2005. I purchased D2005 Pro version. I installed Win32 compiler only (with RAVE reports) AND Update Pack 2. My PC has 1Gb memory with 3Ghz CPU, OS Win XP Pro.

    As I mentioned before D2005 is very, very slow even UP2 installed and no .NET shit in it. And you bet I was very very disappointed -again.
    Also I found memory leaking problem with D2005. I believe .NET stuff is still used with Win32 IDE and that part eats memory a lot. When used D2005 a few hours it has eaten over 800mb memory and the PC is near complete freezing.

    BUT !!!
    I found something I want to share with you: Delphi Configuration Manager at
    http://www.alphalink.com.au/~jed/dcm.htm

    With this tool you can enable/disable D2005 features which are not needed.
    When settings are done *PUFF* magic has happened: Win32 IDE starts very quick, memory loss is almost gone and D2005 is "Ye Olde Gooda Delphi" which I had always used with great satisfaction.

    I WANT TO THANK Jeremy North who has done GREAT JOB with tuning D2005 into well working Win32 compiler with Delphi Configuration Manager.

    Pekka Nyyssnen

    April 18, 2005 at 10:20 pm

  22. hello.
    i can’t install Update 1 or 2.
    not even after windows reinstall.

    it keep saying it can’t find Delphi 2005 in my computer.

    marius_

    May 15, 2005 at 8:19 am

  23. Marius, please go to http://support.borland.com/entry.jspa?externalID=151 for more help on installation issues with Delphi.

    John Kaster

    May 16, 2005 at 5:29 am

  24. D2005 is still very slow – even after service pack 3. If I’m cutting new code it’s okay, but if I paste a line of code into an .pas file that is a few thousand lines long, then the ide will go mad, allocate a gb of memory and run really slowly while I just try to prototype the new proceudre I want to enter

    Karl Geppert

    June 9, 2005 at 11:55 pm

  25. D2005 Memory Leaking issues,
    after 10-20 debugging sessions with my project
    ,instance of BDS increase memory usage of itself to 300MB…

    Hmmm 300MB!!! LOL

    david

    July 19, 2005 at 3:20 am

  26. David, without steps to reproduce posted to QC, there is little chance of resolving your issue.

    John Kaster

    July 19, 2005 at 10:58 am

  27. I had trouble installing Delphi Architect 2005 and now I cannot uninstall it. I can’t install or uninstall. I receive the 1721 Error and MS KB #891985 does not help. HELP, PLEASE? Thanks!! <Steve> seblake@hotmail.com

    Stephen Blake

    July 20, 2005 at 4:03 am

  28. Either contact our support department for uninstall help http://support.borland.com/category.jspa?categoryID=94, or go to the borland.public.install.delphi newsgroup. You can probably get the issue resolved quickly there. Good luck!

    John Kaster

    July 21, 2005 at 4:52 pm

  29. Why dont they fix the IDE first? After all if you cant work fast, or progress in the program. How can you find bugs? I turn it on, and wait 4 mins on my REAL Good GAMING PC 2005 year good PC. On my laptop last year Toshiba Sat Pro A40 it runs ok, you know understandably slow but what the heck its good. Just dont like that component change from D7 to this one. PLZPLZPLZ Fix this problem, or tell us what is doing it, so some of us can reverse engenieer it and fix it.

    Stefano

    August 11, 2005 at 8:51 pm

  30. John Kaster

    August 11, 2005 at 8:58 pm

  31. I have just de-installed D2005 and installed Delphi 7 again. It’s so fast. I am happy again!!!

    Ralf Stocker

    September 4, 2005 at 4:33 pm

  32. I’m sitting at the edge of a room where a dozen programmers all have just installed D2005. Man, it’s not good. IDE trouble left and right. What is the status of the D2005 fixes? We’ve been Borland users since Turbo Pascal 3 and this is the worst release I’ve ever seen. Is it going to be fixed? Is this the end of Borland?

    Jon Bertrand

    September 22, 2005 at 3:17 pm

  33. While I’m ranting today – Your "Quality Central" is just another bunch of crap. Do you really think we want to play that game? You made it awkward and difficult to use and require DIFFERENT login credentials than the BDN. Just another flop for Borland. I don’t know what has happened to Borland. You used to be a really great company to deal with, and the loyalty you entended to your customers came back in spades, in the form of loyal developers. That seems to have gone. I recently had to move an interbase installation from one machine to another (during a development cycle) and was forced to deal with the Interbase Nazi’s. What a nightmare. It took over a week because of licensing issues – which should not have been issues at all. Then there’s the worthless crippled version of InstallShield you now bundle. What a joke! Do you really think we want to figure out all the dependencies by hand? If I have to do that why would I even use it? I bought a third-party package for $100 (instead of $599) – at least it works and it’s not crippled. If you want loyal developers you have to consider our needs and opinions. In the past you earned our respect – you’re not earning anything but contempt anymore. Even M$ products are a better deal than this (and I hate using MFC almost as much as .NET). I wish I could turn in my D2005 for a refund of my $1500 upgrade – it’s not something I want to use or own.

    Bob Bain

    October 1, 2005 at 12:36 pm

  34. Bob, far be it from me to ruin a perfectly invalid rant, but you might want to look at my blog posts about single-sign on for BDN and QC. The first one was posted in April http://blogs.codegear.com/johnk/archive/2005/04/13/3868.aspx and the second was posted in September http://blogs.codegear.com/johnk/archive/2005/09/28/21400.aspx. To sum up, single sign-on is now implemented.

    InterBase installation and licensing is ordinarily very easy. Sorry you had problems with it. As far as the Nazi reference, I invoke Godwin’s law. See http://www.worldhistory.com/wiki/G/Godwin‘s-Law.htm for more information.

    I hope you are able to find a solution that satisfies you. We will continue to focus on delivering good products for our customers.

    John Kaster

    October 1, 2005 at 9:36 pm

  35. Ok, John, so the "Nazi" reference was a poor choice of words, but the point was still valid. I have NEVER had so much trouble with "licensing" in my life. Just to install Interbase on my new development server I had to fax them documents on company letterhead with official signatures (basically a sworn statement that Interbase had been uninstalled from the first development machine). Make sure you understand – this wasn’t developer support I was dealing with – it was whoever handles Interbase registration.

    Since you pointed out that it’s now "single sign-on" I’ll applogize for that one and give it a try again.

    I noticed you didn’t address my InstallShield comments, and for whatever reason my first post has apparently been removed(?), so I guess I won’t get any answers about the format of the new D2005 IDE (I liked the old format MUCH better since I work on dual monitors).

    Bob Bain

    October 6, 2005 at 10:03 am

  36. Congrats Borland!

    You’ve done the SLOWEST software in the World! It is faster to install Oracle 9i Server than Delphi 2005! And have you gone Belise licence ways?? Hum…. Another PAIN!
    I just cant believe!
    Days to install and configure. More than one hour to install update pack 1, almost one hour to install update pack 2… and so on…
    Takes forever to start up! Eats all my memory! Freezes 6-8 times an hour!
    Impressive piece of software.

    Alex

    December 1, 2005 at 12:14 pm

  37. Alex, it sounds to me like you’re installing a lot more than just Delphi 2005, like the .NET run-time and other things. Updates of course will take some time as well. I would suggest you watch the feedback for Delphi 2006, which people are starting to see now.

    John Kaster

    December 1, 2005 at 12:39 pm

  38. John,

    Sorry if my post sounds like nothing but complaints… In fact my company bought Delphi 2006 licenses… But it is not ready, at least here in Brazil. Borland have sent us, Delphi 2005 until D2006 is ready.
    I’ve been in Borcon 4 (Brazil). Talked to Borland Brazil staff. I was really impressed with new features, and stuff…
    But I’m afraid that real life is different.
    When I say that takes forever to install. This is true. It took me more than one hour to install update pack 1 (and the files are all in my hard drive!) in a Pentium 4 – 2.4 GHz with 1 Gb RAM!!!
    I’ve been using Delphi since version 1, in the old days… And I love Delphi.
    But I WANT MY DELPHI BACK!!!!
    I don’t want this!!!

    Alex

    December 1, 2005 at 12:56 pm

  39. I have been a Borland fanatic since the orginal version of Turbo Pascal (1982 I think). I was blown away when Delphi appeared and with each new release. Untill I bought Delphi 7 enterprise, recently my wife bought 2005, big mistake, it is unusable. She now uses my old version of Delphi 5 (I did not buy 6). Borland’s attitude seem to change around the release of Delphi 7, I noticed it when I phoned support with a reproducable bug and was told I would have to pay to get an answer. I do not know how many thousands of dollars I have spent on Borland products but the loyalty only seems to be one way nowdays. Borland needs to support their customers if they want us to support them. Don’t follow MS, go back to leading them.

    John Hart

    December 15, 2005 at 10:54 pm

  40. John, I apologize for your unhappiness with Delphi 2005. FWIW, response to Delphi 2006 has been EXTREMELY positive, because we heard from our Delphi 2005 customers like you, and wanted to make them happy again. Please look into Delphi 2006 if you are inclined. FWIW, many customers on our newsgroups are saying they like it much better than VS 2005.

    John Kaster

    December 16, 2005 at 9:17 am

  41. Problems with Delphi 2005? You must be kissing. You want to know what is the REAL problem? It is Delphi 2005 itself. Just scrap the product and release a product which actually works for 2 hours without crashing…

    Hemmmer

    May 1, 2006 at 5:58 am

  42. I use D2005 and it sucks, it is the buggiest piece of software I have used in Years. Reading through this the overused developer excuse comes out "We can’t replicate it". Sorry, but if you used the product you wrote then you must hit the same problems. Borland are responsile for QA not the users. Delphi has become an over-priced 3rd rate tool. Listen to your users or you won’t have any left…

    flash

    May 24, 2006 at 2:06 am

  43. Flash, Delphi 2006 is significantly better than Delphi 2005, and we are continuing to improve quality in all our products. See http://bdn.borland.com/article/0,1410,33463,00.html for more information.

    John Kaster

    May 24, 2006 at 10:18 am

  44. Hmm… seems no activity in this discussion since 2006.
    But anyway I would comment out a little bit Delphi’s current (2009) version by CodeGear.

    I’m very satisfied with this product. All problems mentioned in this discussion are gone. IDE is just fantastic with new features, it’s rather quick to start and it jams or crasher very rarely and very often because of mistakes of mine.

    I would say that after D5 this D2009 is the version which can be purchased.

    What do you think dear colleagues?

    Pekka Nyyssönen

    March 27, 2009 at 10:17 pm


Leave a Reply

