John Kaster

Behind the Screen

The “As Designed” red herring

leave a comment »

One of the best books I’ve read recently is The Design of Everyday Things. I think every single software developer on the planet should read it at least once. It will make you a better programmer, although it isn’t particularly about designing software.

I was reminded to post something about it by an energetic discussion on the Delphi non-technical newsgroup, in which one long-running thread discusses “bug” vs. “as designed.” Delphi non-tech is also the first place I heard of the book, and I’m glad I pursued finding and reading it.

What does Donald say about “as designed?” I’m paraphrasing here, but I think I recall the spirit correctly: If you continue to get reports about a “bug” and keep responding it’s “as designed” it’s time to rethink your design.

Written by John Kaster

July 31, 2004 at 11:20 pm

Posted in IT Industry

Leave a Reply

