John Kaster

Behind the Screen

The CodeCentral shuffle

with 4 comments

We’ve been having some reliability problems on the CodeCentral server box that have been causing downtime. (See this post for background.) I kept trying to make time to move CodeCentral to another box, but since it was very intermittent I hadn’t made it a high priority. That is, until today, when the server fell and had a really hard time getting back up!

New, reduced carb, low fat URLs!

So, I’ve moved CodeCentral over to a new, faster server, and also created dedicated web sites for it that result in shorter URLs to it. You can now use http://cc.borland.com to get to it, and use http://cc.borland.com/ccweb.exe/ followed by the rest of the URL you used to put after http://codecentral.borland.com/codecentral/ccweb.exe/.

This means the URL for my CodeCentral author page changes from http://codecentral.borland.com/codecentral/ccweb.exe/author?authorid=1 to http://cc.borland.com/ccweb.exe/author?authorid=1 which is a great reduction in URL abuse! I haven’t modified the CodeCentral web server itself to start taking advantage of these shorter URLs yet, but I will.

I’ve currently had to disable the search form because there is a compatibility problem with Windows Server 2003 I haven’t tracked down yet. I’ll probably replace the search dialog with an ASP.NET form (thus also significantly improving performance) and I’ll get to that as soon as I can. It’s not as trivial as you might think, since lots of things happen in the background when you perform a search in CodeCentral.

The threaded conversation server has also been moved over to this box. Hopefully in a future post I can find the time to provide the details on how I created these virtual web servers.

This migration follows some of my rules for building web applications:

  1. Never, ever, ever, break an existing URL link to important “assets”
  2. Provide short, meaningful URLs to assets

I like http://urljr.com and http://tinyurl.com as much as the next geek, but the fact that they exist at all means that too many web sites put out URLs that are way too long. Whenever possible, Borland Developer Network will have short, meaningful URLs that will be easy to pass around in newsgroup posts, email messages, or simply remember.

Written by John Kaster

July 22, 2004 at 12:15 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John, not a comment about this particular BLOG entry but about your BLOG in general. Very useful information, particularly appreciated the reference to AWStats. Thanks!

    Leroy Casterline

    July 31, 2004 at 11:51 am

  2. I’m glad you’re finding some useful information in my blather, Leroy! Thanks for letting me know. I still have to remind myself I’ve got this blog, but I’m sure I’ll eventually be used to it and post lots more tidbits. That’s the fun and challenge of our industry: so much new and different every day.

    John Kaster

    August 2, 2004 at 12:21 am

  3. But WHEN is the find facility going to be fixed? That
    is a MAJOR function that needs to be working with the
    amount of information on here.

    Eddie Shipman

    August 31, 2004 at 7:09 am

  4. I’m replacing it with an ASP.NET page that provides a lot more capability. I’m not waiting to launch it to add the capability — I’m just trying to get it functional, but the additional capability will only be about 10 more minutes of work.

    This is on my hot fix list. I’ll get it replaced as soon as I can.

    John Kaster

    August 31, 2004 at 6:16 pm


Leave a Reply

